Navigation auf


Viral Vector Facility

About us


The Viral Vector Facility VVF was established as a non-profit entity in 2014 by an initiative of Prof. Jean-Marc Fritschy (former director of the Neuroscience Center Zurich, ZNZ) and Dr. Wolfgang Knecht (managing director of the ZNZ).

The ZNZ is a joint competence center of ETH Zurich and University of Zurich that connects and coordinates the research activities of more than 1'000 neuroscientists.

Dr. Jean-Charles Paterna was elected as manager of the VVF shortly after the VVF was established and Dr. Melanie Rauch joined the VVF as scientific associate.

Services became available in July 2015 and after an evaluation period of three years, the Technology Commission of the University of Zurich recognized the VVF as one of its permanent technology platforms.

The Institute of Pharmacology & Toxicology of the University of Zurich-Irchel (director: Prof. Bruno Weber) hosts the VVF since its beginning, granting generous access to laboratory space and equipment.

The close proximity between the neuroscience research community and the VVF at the University Zurich-Irchel campus ensures a strong exchange of the latest developments in the area of neuroscience and viral vector technology.


source: Google Earth


Viral Vector Facility VVF
Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology
University of Zurich
Irchel Campus Y17
Winterthurerstrasse 190
8057 Zurich

Room H42 (Dr. Jean-Charles Paterna; 0041 44 635 59 91)
Room H44 (Dr. Melanie Rauch; 0041 44 635 59 75)

Shipping Address

To send us material please use the following address:

University of Zurich
Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Dr. Jean-Charles Paterna / Dr. Melanie Rauch
Winterthurerstrasse 190
8057 Zurich


  • Dr. Jean-Charles Paterna (April 2014)
  • Dr. Melanie Rauch (September 2014)
  • Christian Schättin (September 2014)
  • Zsuzsanna Hasenkamp (June 2019)
  • Brigitte Grosswindhager (August 2019)
  • Jennifer Jaberg (June 2022)
  • Dr. Lazaros Vasilikos (February 2023)
  • Katja Bargsten (April 2023)


  • Dr. Michael Stobart (October 2016 - February 2018)
  • Jael Xandry (March 2018 - March 2019)
  • Ingrid Christa Bechtold (April 2018 - April 2019)
  • Claudia Gärtner-Pelham (May 2019 - May 2020)
  • Dr. Jürg Läderach (June 2019 - December 2022)
  • Paulina Anna Wyrzykowska (May 2021 - December 2022)